EP Elaboration: Suzumiya

Last one! I didn’t mean to spend so long on these. Anyway, Suzumiya…

So previously I said Swings was how I wanted the band to sound, lyrically. Suzumiya (the CDR version more than the Atomsk version) is basically how I wanted it to sound sonically. It’s light and positive and happy, and it doesn’t really sound like anything else, to my ears anyway.

Most of our tracks tend to have very strictly defined structures; here’s a verse, a short transition, chorus, repeat etc. Craig doesn’t seem to mind this, but I do. There’s one track we’ve not released which I can’t stand because it’s just a bunch of unrelated sections rammed together without any coherence. Some of those sections are kind of promising, but in the context of the song they’re just an ugly mess.

Suzumiya (CDR version) was an attempt to create something more fluid and organic; more interesting. All the parts were designed to work together, to overlap and repeat in unexpected patterns. It’s a lesson I learnt from a music teacher in high school: repetition is nothing to be feared; repetition is good, unexpected repetition is better. Admittedly there is an obvious break point 2/3 through the track where the overlapping strategy goes out the window, but to my ears at least that final 1/3 is a natural development out of the earlier part.

I think it’s still my favourite track of ours.

The name comes from The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya, an anime coming-of-age tale that touches on bipolar disorder, with episodes shown chronologically out of order. It also has aliens, ESP and time travelling, and imagines god as a 15-year-old girl. It’s got music, dancing, computer games, and a miss marple-esque mystery in a remote mansion. It’s great. It seems they’ve made a bunch more episodes and a movie since I originally found it, but I’m not sure I want to see them; those original 14 episodes are pretty much perfect as far as I’m concerned.

I guess all that’s left is a bit about the Atomsk version’s lyrics. They’re about sex. Also love. e.g. the pixel art here.

One response to “EP Elaboration: Suzumiya

You must be logged in to post a comment.

